Recognized Safety Management Systems

Recognized safety management systems provide structures for the management of safety and health. Auditors can externally verify the achievement of conformance to some of the systems listed below. Employers may not need to seek external verification to find the value in implementing a safety and health management system.

OSHA - Voluntary Protection Program (VPP)

The OSHA - VPP recognizes employers and workers in private industry and federal agencies who have implemented effective safety and health management systems.  The employers also maintain injury and illness rates below national Bureau of Labor Statistics averages for their respective industries. In the VPP, management, labor, and OSHA work cooperatively and proactively to prevent fatalities, injuries, and illnesses.

OSHA - Safety and Health Achievement Recognition Program (SHARP)

The OSHA – SHARP recognizes small business employers who operate an exemplary injury and illness prevention program. Acceptance of your worksite into SHARP from OSHA is an achievement of status that singles you out among your business peers as a model for worksite safety and health. Upon receiving SHARP recognition, OSHA exempts your worksite from OSHA programmed inspections during the period that your SHARP certification is valid.


This standard consists of five elements that are developed and applied in an organization to develop a safety and health management system:

  • Management leadership and employee participation
  • Planning
  • Implementation and operation
  • Evaluation and corrective action
  • Management review

Purchase the ANZI standard

OSHAS 18001

OHSAS 18000 is an international occupational health and safety management system specification. It comprised of two parts, 18001 and 18002 and embraces BS8800 and a number of other publications.